August 14, 2022

Your source for Trending, Up and coming, Latest Lifestyle News. Whether it be for your health, your country, or your soul and body.

Cannes: 2021 Film Winners |

Jury and Award Winners – Photo Closing Ceremony 2021 © Valery Hache / AFP

“It’s been an distinctive Festival. It was alleged to be, and it’s actually lived as much as its promise. For 12 days, the 74th Festival de Cannes has celebrated our reunion with the cinema as an incredible worldwide occasion stuffed with discoveries, encounters and sharing.

On the stage of the Grand Théâtre Lumière, the Master of Ceremonies, Doria Tillier, was joined by the Feature Film Jury chaired by Spike Lee and composed of Mati Diop, Mylène Farmer, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Jessica Hausner, Mélanie Laurent, Kleber Mendonça Filho, Tahar Rahim and Song Kang-ho, for the announcement of the 2021 Awards.”

Feature Films
Palme d’or
TITANE directed by Julia DUCOURNAU

“The award was offered by Sharon Stone and Spike Lee.

Julia DUCOURNAU mentioned: “There is a lot magnificence and emotion to be present in what can’t be pigeonholed. Thank you to the Jury for calling for extra variety in our movie experiences and in our lives. And thanks to the Jury for letting the monsters in.

Grand Prix (ex aequo)
GHAHREMAN (A Hero) directed by Asghar FARHADI

HYTTI N°6 (Compartment N°6) directed by Juho KUOSMANEN

The award was offered by the American director Oliver Stone.

Asghar FARHADI mentioned: “I bear in mind, it was thirty-six years in the past. I used to be 13 years previous and I made my first quick movie with the assets I had accessible. Since then, I’ve been writing and making movies, regardless of the difficulties, regardless of the pressures. I proceed to have the hope of questioning society round me and elevating consciousness.

Juho KUOSMANEN mentioned: “The last two weeks have seemed so long. This film is the story of a relationship between two people, but all stories involve relationships between people.”

Best Director

The award was offered by Italian actress and director Valeria Golino.

Ron and Russell Mael, the Sparks duo, mentioned: “Eight years ago Ron and I came to Cannes. We met Leos Carax for the first time and thanked him for using one of our songs in his film Holy Motors. He is a great French director, a great filmmaker. We are very touched to have played a role in this project.”

Best Screenplay

The award was offered by British director and screenwriter Andrea Arnold.

HAMAGUCHI Ryusuke mentioned: “I am obviously thinking of the author of the short story that inspired this film, Haruki Murakami. I also want to make it clear that I did not write this script alone. TAKAMASA Oe is a full-time screenwriter, but he constantly encourages me to write. I am very grateful to him. It’s a very long film but he always encouraged me to go through with the project. I would like to thank the people who put the script into pictures. If you liked it, it was well acted and I also want to thank my actors. They contributed greatly to the success of the film.”

Jury Prize (ex aequo)
MEMORIA directed by Apichatpong WEERASETHAKUL

HA’BERECH (Ahed’s Knee) directed by Nadav LAPID

The award was offered by British actor Rosamund Pike.

Nadav LAPID mentioned: “Before the shooting, the situation was very delicate and complicated. My producer asked me if I thought we could do it: I said yes, but I am a director, I say yes to everything! She chose to believe me, and in that she was irrational and reckless. These are the most beautiful qualities one can have to make films. Thank you to all the irrational and reckless people in the world.”

Apichatpong WEERASETHAKUL mentioned: “Thank you to our groups in Colombia and Mexico, it’s to you that I dedicate this award. Tilda Swinton, Jeanne Balibar, Agnes Brekke… You have given me the best present of the spirit. Tilda, we talked quite a bit about this dream, and right here we’re. You are probably the most outstanding human beings, you’ve taken me underneath your wing and I’m vert fortunate to be with you.

Best Performance by an Actress
Renate REINSVE in VERDENS VERSTE MENNESKE (The Worst Person within the World)
directed by Joachim TRIER

The award was offered by South Korean actor LEE Byung-hun.

Renate REINSVE mentioned: “This award goes to so many individuals. It was a collective effort, all the pieces got here collectively so simply!

Best Performance by an Actor
directed by Justin KURZEL

The award was offered by French actress Adèle Exarchopoulos.

Short Films
Palme d’or
TIAN XIA WU YA (All the Crows within the World) directed by TANG Yi

Special Mention
CÉU DE AGOSTO (August Sky) directed by Jasmin TENUCCI

The Palme d’Or and the Special Mention have been offered by Sameh Alaa, member of the Jury for Short Films and Palme d’Or for Short Films 2020, and Mounia Meddour, member of the Un Certain Regard Jury.

Jasmin TENUCCI mentioned: “I am very happy. This is my second short film, I had a limited budget, my producer just turned 25 and my actress is freelance. If you want to work with a great actress, come and ask me!”

Honorary Palme d’or
Just as American actress-director Jodie Foster was awarded an honorary Palme d’Or on the Opening Ceremony on 6 May, Italian filmmaker Marco BELLOCCHIO has obtained the excellence this night for his distinctive profession.

The trophy was offered to him by Paolo Sorrentino.

Marco Bellocchio mentioned: “I would like to share this award with all the people who are part of my film family. I am very moved. I am very happy that you have remembered Michel Piccoli, with whom I worked. He and Anouk Aimée were awarded the acting prize for A Leap in the Dark (Le Saut dans le vide) in 1979. The things I have achieved I have done with imagination and courage. A director has to be able to demonstrate these qualities.”

Caméra d’or
MURINA directed by Antoneta Alamat KUSIJANOVIĆ unveiled within the body of LA QUINZAINE DES RÉALISATEURS

The Caméra d’or was offered by Mélanie Thierry, President of the Jury of this First Film Selection.

The winner was represented by the movie’s co-writer, Frank Graziano, who mentioned: “The director put all her heart into making the film, she gave birth to her first child yesterday and is watching the ceremony from Dubrovnik.”

Higher Technical Commission (CST)
CST Artist-Technician Prize
Vladislav OPELIANTS (Russia), CHIEF DIRECTOR OF PHOTOGRAPHY, PETROV’S FLU, by Kirill Serebrennikov

CST Young Film Technician Award

Un Certain Regard
Un Certain Regard Prize
RAZZHIMAYA KULAKI (Unclenching the Fists)

directed by Kira KOVALENKO

Jury Prize

directed by Sebastian MEISE

Ensemble Prize
BONNE MÈRE (Good Mother)

directed by Hafsia HERZI

Courage Prize

directed by Teodora Ana MIHAI

Prize of Originality

directed by Valdimar JÓHANNSSON

Special Mention
NOCHE DE FUEGO (Prayers for the Stolen)

directed by Tatiana HUEZO

First Prize
L’ENFANT SALAMANDRE (The Salamander Child)

directed by Théo Degen

INSAS, Belgium

Second Prize

directed by Yoon Daewoen

Korea National University of Arts, South Korea

Joint Third Prize

directed by Carina-Gabriela Dașoveanu



directed by Rodrigo Ribeyro

Academia Internacional de Cinema, Brazil

The last Screening of the 74th Festival de Cannes: OSS 117, Alerte rouge en Afrique noire (From Africa with Love), the third a part of the adventures of Hubert Bonisseur de la Bath was proven to festival-goers on the finish of the Awards Ceremony within the presence of director Nicolas Bedos, actors Jean Dujardin and Pierre Niney and forged and crew.”

Text and image courtesy The Festival of Cannes

Source link